Awards & Recognitions

  • The AIU is extremely proud of the accomplishments of its employees, programs and divisions.  Below are just a few of the recognitions and awards that our caring and compassionate staff have recently received.

  • 2023 Apple Award

    Beth Ann Coughlin

    Beth Ann Coughlin, a teacher at the St. Louise de Marillac School, is the recipient of the 2023 Apple Award. The award is presented to a K-12 professional in the AIU’s Non-Public Schools Program who demonstrates superior contributions, commitment and the highest level of support as an AIU ambassador. Beth Ann serves with distinction and displays leadership, expertise and compassion to all students and staff. She is patient and kind, and she has always advocated reading and math programming to support student growth and development. 

  • 2023 Annie Sullivan Award

    Andrew Sneed

    Andrew Sneed, an industrial arts teacher at Sunrise School, is the recipient of the 2023 Annie Sullivan Award. The honor acknowledges Sneed’s dedication and efforts to promote and champion the needs of individuals with disabilities and to promote disability awareness in the community. Named for Helen Keller’s teacher and friend, the Annie Sullivan Award recognizes an educator who goes above and beyond her or his professional duties to facilitate acceptance of people with disabilities in school and the community.   

  • 2023 Award of Excellence

    John Jadlocki

    John Jadlocki, a physical education with the AIU’s Alternative Education Program, is the recipient of the 2023 Award of Excellence. John was nominated by his peers for exemplifying team leadership, support and problem solving at Community School East, as well as for demonstrating superior instructional practices and professional interventions with students and families.  

  • 2023 World of Gratitude Award

    Susan Vaughn

    Susan Vaughn, a teacher at McIntyre Elementary, is the recipient of the 2023 World of Gratitude Award, which is presented to a K-12 English as a Second Language (ESL) professional in the AIU’s K-12 ESL Program. Vaughn received the honor for demonstrating an exemplary level of professionalism and dedication to students and staff while displaying leadership, expertise and compassion. An advocate for all students and their families, Susan goes above and beyond helping the ESL department implement new practices, concepts and resources.  

  • 2023 Helping Hands Award

    Connor Hutzler

    Connor Hutzler, a paraprofessional at Mon Valley School, is the recipient of the 2023 Helping Hands Award. The award acknowledges an employee who goes beyond their required duties to enrich the lives of the students they serve. Connor supports a diverse group of students, embracing all as a caring and compassionate educator. He has displayed patience, knowledge, persistence and dedication throughout her career.  

  • 2022 Heart of a Hero Award

    Donna Reinhart

    DONNA REINHART, an Early Head Start Teacher, was awarded the Allegheny County Head Start Association's Heart of a Hero Award, given to the individual who exceeds expectations for the nomination because of their dedication to the program. This employee goes above and beyond for their children and the families in the Early Head Start Program. Donna was recognized for showing a positive attitude in all situations, putting the needs of the children in the classroom and their families first. She is always willing to help everyone in every possible way she can. 

  • 2023 Mission Possible Award

    The Mission-Possible Award is presented to AIU employees who have exhibited a positive and influential impact on their work environment, overcame an obstacle or fostered cooperation and collaboration in their work group, all while carrying out their responsibilities. 

    The work of Mission-Possible Award honrees demonstrates excellence in supporting the AIU’s core mission of advocating and advancing equitable opportunities for every learner. These staff members exemplify going above and beyond to complete a mission. 

    The winners of the 2023 Mission-Possible Awards are:

    Amanda Mathieson – Teaching & Learning Division
    April Schmidt – Early Childhood, Family & Community Services Division
    Kelly Hough – Special Education & Pupil Services Division
    Will DeShong – Internal Services Division